(From 15-10-2009 to 20-03-2013)

Shri Nikhil Kumar, son of Late Shri Satyendra Narayan Sinha was born on the 15th of July 1941 at Hajipur in Vaishali district of Bihar.  His early education took place in St.Xavier’s School, Patna.  Thereafter he studied in Government Intermediate College, Allahabad.  He did his Graduation & Post-Graduation (MA in Modern History) from Allahabad University.
Shri Nikhil Kumar joined the Indian Police Service in 1963 and was allotted the UT Cadre.  In a career spanning 38 years, Shri Nikhil Kumar held many important assignments and posts – notable among them being the Inspector General, BSF (1989-91; 1992-94); Commissioner of Delhi Police (1995-97); Director General, ITBP (1997); Special Secretary in the Ministry of Home Affairs (Internal Security & Police) and Director General, National Security Guards (1999-2001).  After retirement from IPS in 2001, Shri Nikhil Kumar was appointed Member, National Security Advisory Board, Government of India (2001-03).  

In 2003, Shri Nikhil Kumar joined the Indian National Congress.  He was elected to the 14th Lok Sabha from Aurangabad Constituency in Bihar.  During his term as a parliamentarian, Shri Nikhil Kumar was member of (a) Standing Committee on Ministry of External Affairs (b) Joint Committee on Salaries and Allowances of Members of Parliament, (c) Consultative Committee of Ministry of Home Affairs; (d) Joint Parliamentary Committee on Security in Parliament House Complex; and (e) Chairman, Standing Committee on Information Technology (Ministries of Information & Broadcasting, Communications & Information Technology).

Shri Nikhil Kumar has been actively associated with many social and cultural bodies.  He is the President of Anugrah Sewa Sadan, Patna, Gandhi Ashram Trust, Hajipur, and was Chairman, ANS Institute of Social Studies, Patna and Chairman, SPCA Bihar.

Shri Nikhil Kumar has special interest in matters relating to Internal Security, English Literature, Rural Development, History, Politics, Sports (Cricket) and Films.  He is widely travelled and has visited many countries.    His favorite pastime and recreation are reading, listening to music, watching cricket and writing. 

Shri Nikhil Kumar is the recipient of many Awards and Honours; prominent among which are – the Indian Police Medal for Meritorious Service (1978), President’s Police Medal for Distinguished service (1985) and the Distinguished Xaverian Award (1995).

Shri Nikhil Kumar is married to Shrimati Shyama Singh who was herself Member of Parliament from Aurangabad in the 13th Lok Sabha.

Shri Nikhil Kumar was Governor of Nagaland from October 15, 2009.
Shri Nikhil Kumar’s permanent residence address is “Sopan”, Boring Road, Patna (Bihar) Pin  – 800 001.